[PREMIERE] Van Bobbi – “Cruel Intentions”

From the first obscured keyboard chords to the distorted vocal sample sprinkled throughout the track, “Cruel Intentions” has more happening than first meets the eye. Van Bobbi, previously known as Collage, sings about a manipulative, controlling lover that he can’t get enough of. Along the way, underwater synths and electronic drum fills that would make Phil Collins blush drive the whole thing forward to an inevitable conclusion we never discover in the song, but that we all know is coming. But then again, the chorus says “We’ve got cruel intentions” – maybe Van Bobbi has a few surprises up his sleeve. We’ll know more when his debut album is released via Lights & Music Collective later this year.

Vinyl Moon members can hear Van Bobbi on”Perfect Lover” from Volume 011: Night Eyes –  currently ONLY available on vinyl!

[PREMIERE] Noble Oak – “Out There” & album announce

Whether you take it in as a sunshine-drenched pop gem, a break-up anthem, or 80’s nostalgia to tide you over until the new season of Stranger Things, a new Noble Oak track is cause for celebration. That’s why we’re thrilled to premiere the producer’s latest track “Out There” and announce his upcoming sophomore album, Collapsing Together. Unabashedly tender and ballad-esque, “Out There” underpins its shimmering piano melodies with massive drums and the sexiest soprano sax this side of “Baker Street“. It risks becoming too melodramatic to take seriously, but the despondent lyrics give it a believable emotional core: “I’m not ready for love/I’m not ready for anything”. Hopefully we’ll be ready for the rest of the album, to be released August 2017.

Find the tracklist for Collapsing Together below, and revisit Noble Oak’s excellent track “All I Said” as featured on VINYL MOON Volume 014: From The Window.

Collapsing Together tracklist:
1. After The Ending
2. Out There
3. Come True
4. Steal
5. Hope, Expectation
6. Dive
7. Goes Dark
8. Can’t Be Sure
9. Distance Gone
10. Hold
11. Something More

[PREMIERE] Slow Shiver – “Set In Stone” (Video)

"Set in Stone" – Slow Shiver from Slow Shiver on Vimeo.

Just a month after the track premiered on Soundcloud, Slow Shiver unveils the music video for “Set In Stone,” and it’s a gorgeous and introspective piece. Like the song, the video is equal parts dream-like, raw, and heartfelt. Contrasting the personal experience of receiving an unwanted letter with dramatic lighting, sharp accents (literally), and a no-holds-barred lip-synch performance, we see the conflicted emotions of trying to draw boundaries between someone who has hurt you – resilience and vulnerability, independence and desire, confidence and doubt. If you ever needed a backdrop to an inner struggle, this is it.

For more Slow Shiver, go back to “In Blue (Drive By Delivery)” from VINYL MOON Volume 018: Intrepid Curves, or hear his guest feature on Anoraak’s track “We Lost” from VINYL MOON Volume 016: Breathing Shadows.


The Burning Ear’s June 2017 Spotify Playlist

We’re now firmly in the summer months, which means our minds are focused on popsicles, BBQs, and, of course, great new music. While those first two items are hard to serve up online, we’ve gathered some of our favorite songs from last month and cooked up a great playlist for you.

As always, subscribe to The Burning Ear on Spotify and check out previous month’s playlists or stay up-to-date on what we’ve started grooving to July.

The Burning Ear’s May 2017 Spotify Playlist

The year seems like it’s rocketing by, each week completely jam-packed with activity, shows, releases, and more. If you’re feeling like you blinked and May was gone, never fear – we’ve got (almost) all our choice tracks from last month in one handy-dandy playlist for you.

We update our monthly playlists as we add tracks so you can always stay up-to-date. Subscribe to The Burning Ear on Spotify and revisit past months, or get a head start on June’s jams.

The Burning Ear’s April 2017 Spotify Playlist

The Burning Ear sends out a lot of music each month, so you’d be forgiven for missing some songs. Luckily, we’ve got you covered with our new monthly Spotify playlists. We gather all the available tracks we’ve posted in one place, add them as they’re posted, and shoot them out as a monthly recap.

Check out April’s tracks in the player below, and follow The Burning Ear to see previous month’s playlists.

[CONTEST] WIN Ten Fé Tix for LA & NYC, plus ACL Announcement!

Time to cue up Ten Fé’s excellent debut album (above) and dive into a bunch of goodies and good news here!

First off, the Londoner’s are descending on the states for a tour and we have tickets to the LA and NYC shows to give away!

  • May 18 – Brighton, UK @ The Great Escape
  • June 6 – New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge [WIN TIX below]
  • June 8 – Manchester, TN @ Bonnaroo
  • June 10 – Philadelphia, PA @ World Café
  • June 14 – Los Angeles, CA @ Hotel Café [WIN TIX below]
  • June 16 – San Francisco @ Rickshaw Stop (Popscene)
  • July 9 – Manchester, UK @ Blue Dot
  • Aug 6 – Oxford, UK @ Wilderness

Check out this short video of the band talking about the US Tour and then enter to win tickets below.

Read more

[WIN!] Sing Street DVD & Shure Earphones

John Carney makes great movies. His breakout hit Once turned the world onto the fantastic band Swell Season and was definitely one of my favorites of 2007. Then his 2013 film Begin Again starred Mark Ruffalo and a pre-late-night James Corden. So when I heard I got the chance to give away a DVD copy of his latest film Sing Street AND its a feel-good, coming of age story featuring the ultimate soundtrack of the 80s I was pretty stoked.


Head over this Instagram post and comment with both of the following:

  1. The name of your favorite 80s song
  2. Tag a friend who loves that song too
  3. Use the hashtag #SingStreetDVD

One (1) winner receives:

(Winner will be chosen at random from the qualifying entries on Tuesday August 9th at 12 PST)

Read more